Significance of 12 names of Ganesha

February 20, 2015, In: Mythological

When Hindus want their life to be prosperous or a vouch of trouble-free journey, Lord Ganesha is invoked. Taking the name of Ganesha before beginning any new task ensures good results. The Hindus invoke Lord Ganesha by chanting the Ganesha Shloka. It comprises of the twelve names of Lord Ganesha and its significance. It is chanted during the Sankasthi Chaturthi. The twelve names of Lord Ganesha carry special meanings and signify the power of Lord Ganesha.

Let’s read about these twelve names of Lord Ganesha

1.   Sumukh

Ganesha is invoked for his beauty that transcends into the Chandra Mandal. As per the legends, Ganesha was pierced by Lord Shiva’s trident. His face took a golden tinge and became round like the moon. On entering the Chandra Mandal, Ganesha retained the spot like a beautiful spot. The luminous section of his face is a significant feature. Small eyes, long ears, broken tusk and the trunk signify the presence of Omkar through Sumukh.

 2.   Ek Danta

Ganesha is blessed with one broken tusk signifying the importance of control and godliness. The legend says that when Ganesha was born from Parvati, he did not have god-like qualities. When his tusk was broken by Parshurama, Ganesha showed immense tolerance and patience. It signifies the separation of Maya from the soul. It is believed that the grand epics of Hindu religion are written by Ganesha using this broken tusk.

 3.   Kapil

Ganesha bears a smoky bluish grey complexion. It is similar to the holy cow called Kapila. It is the divine source of wealth, prosperity and eternal health. The milk is considered to be the purest food. Just like a dark source gives a pure thing, Lord Ganesha blesses everyone with purity.

 4.   Gajakarna

It symbolizes the large ears of Lord Ganesha. It is a sign of filtering the good words from bad ones. Paying attention to important things in life is the key to victory. This is reflected in the name Gajakarna.

 5.   Lambodar

It is derived from the two Sanskrit words, ‘Lamba’ meaning big and ‘Udara’ meaning stomach. It symbolizes the accumulation of wisdom, knowledge, wealth and health.

 6.   Vikat

Vikat encounters the good and the bad sides of the mortal world. It is considered to be a dreadful symbol of unity of evil and goodwill. For Lord Ganesha, everyone is equal.

 7.   Vighnanash

Lord Ganesha is invoked with this name to remove all signs of fear and stress from the mind. It teaches control over owns action and words.

 8.   Vinayak

Lord Ganesha is the Master of fear. Hindus chant the name of Vinayaka to stay free from fear of defeat, evil and death.

 9.   Dhoomra Ketu

Smoking trail of a comet is called Dhoomra Ketu. Lord Ganesha is the destroyer of evils. The agni of Dhommra Ketu is pious and is enlightening in nature.

 10. Ganadhyaksha

Ganesha is the Master of all the mortal beings. For him, every living being is a gana or citizen of heaven. Hence, Ganesha is also called Ganapati or Ganachana Adhipati.

11. Bhalchandra

Bhalachandra symbolizes the crown of Lord Ganesha. He wears Chandra or Moon God on his head and reflects the enlightening aspect of worshipping him. He is the lord of the Brahmins and hence is the master of Wisdom and all knowledge.

12. Gajanana

This name signifies the face of the elephant. The dignity of mankind is not forever and can be ruined if he turns arrogant. Gaja means Elephant and Anand means Happy Face. It also reflects the eternal happiness of a brahma yogi.

It can be read daily and reciting the shloka ensures freedom from stress and anxiety. To achieve Riddhi-Siddhi in your life, chanting the twelve names bear special importance.

Share this:
Category: Product #: Regular price:$ (Sale ends ) Available from: Condition: Good ! Order now!


Wheres My Pandit is an e-commerce project which centers on the ideas of professionalism with expertise in providing Puja Samagri & Pandit Services; it also conducts live Puja through video conferencing along with assisting in various Yatra and Temple information.The best part still is the "Organize a Puja" section provided by WMP so as to cater to all the needs of the Client .