Navchandi Yagna Puja


Navchandi Yagna Puja translates to performing a holy sacrificial puja to worship nine manifestations of energies that pervades the universe – Maa Chandi who is also known as Durga. Navchandi Yagna and Paath involves elaborate rituals that are undertaken to seek blessings from all the nine forms of Maa Durga to fulfill our wishes for a healthy, better and a prosperous life.

Significance of Navchandi Yagna Puja:

Navchandi Yagna is a Nav Durga Puja, a sacrificial rite which involves chanting of Saptashati Mantras to fulfill our desires and remove all sufferings. A person is blessed by all the supreme deities, including Lord Ganesha, Lord Shiva, Nav Grahas and Nav Durga, just by performing Navchandi Yagna Puja.

Even the ancient Upanishads find the mention of Navchandi Yagna Puja, wherein it states the elaborate rituals along with the benefits. These sanskrit texts document the procedures to be followed to invoke each of the nine energies of Maa Durga and how it can benefit us.

Performing a Navchandi Yagna Puja is said to bless the devotee with immense energy that helps ward off the negative energies and hardships in life. Navchandi havan involves chanting of Sapthasati Mantras which bears equivalent status as Ashwamedha in yagnas and Hari in Devas as mentioned to Damara Tantra. Bhuvaneshwari Samhita also describes Sapthasati Mantras as eternal like Vedas themselves.

Benefits of Performing a Navchandi Yagna Puja:

Navchandi Yagna Puja is performed to worship and please Durga and avail the blessings of Goddess Mahalaxmi, Maha Sarwaswati and Maha Kali . Performing Navchandi Yagna Puja helps in

  • Gaining name, fame and success
  • Living a Long healthy life
  • Gain protection from evil
  • To overcome fear of death
  • To fulfill our desires and wishes
  • Remove malefic effects of planets
  • Protects from and helps overcome enemies

Occasions to Perform Navchandi Yagna Puja:

As such Navchandi Yagna can be performed any time of the year as per the prescribed Muhurat to fulfil our wishes and gain specific benefits – be it gaining wealth or prosperity or getting rid of malefic energies around us. It can also be performed along with Griha Pravesh Puja or Vastu Shanti Puja.

Along with this Navchandi Yagna Pooja can also be performed during Vasant or Sharadayi Navratri, Durga Puja, Dussera or on the day of Maha Navami, when Maa Durga is revered in all her nine different forms.

Navchandi Yagna Puja Vidhi:

Navchandi Yagna Puja involves offering sacrificial rite with the reading of Devi Mahatmayan, i.e; Chandi Paaths or Durga Sapthasati. Chandi Paath involves reading Sapthasati Mantras which has 700 verses across 13 chapters. These chapters are further divided into 3 distinct parts

The first part is devoted to Maa Ambe, a manifestation of Maa Durga who is considered as Maa Shakti. The 2nd , 3rd and 4th parts praise Goddess Maha Laxmi and the remaining chapters are dedicated to Maa Saraswati.

The Yagna or Chandi Homam, involves various steps.

  • Punyahavachanam – involves invoking Lord Varuna to purify the place of Yagna.
  • Maha Ganpati Puja – Like all Pujas, Ganapati is prayed first to remove the obstacles from Yagna.
  • Maha Sankalpam – Performing a vow of Prayer for universal benefit
  • Mandap Puja
  • Sri Chandika Parmeshawari Avahanam – Goddess is invoked with Ashta Bhairavas and Ashta Dik Balas – Nine elements, along with Ganpati and Nav Grahas- the nine Planets by chanting Mantras. Each deity, element and planet is invoked with a kalash filled with water.
  • Dhyana, Avahana and Prana Pratishtha follows. Purush Sukta and Sri Sukta mantras are chanted to appease them.
  • Agni Mathanam and Agni Pradhistai is read while getting the holy fire started for Yagna
  • Navvarna Yantra Puja and Navvarna Homam is done simultaneously. It symbolizes the nine layers of Para Bramham where Goddess Chandika resides right in the center bindu of the yantra. Offerings are made to all the deities that reside on each of these nine layers of the yantra
  • Chanting of Devi Mahatmyam begins which includes Purvanga Mantras ans Ratri Sukhtam as well
  • This is followed by Chandi Homam which is carried out by chanting each mantra of Durga Sapthasati, while putting a bit of sacrificial offering into the fire with each verse ending with Swaha. The offering can include Pongal, milk pudding, Panchamrutam etc.
  • A Maha Bhairava Bali is performed after the Yagna by providing the rice balls mixed with Honey, Ghee and Curd that is offered to all deities.
  • A Maha Yogini Pooja is performed, which represents military of the 64 crore warrior clan that is headed by 64 captains and are aligned to Maa Shakti or Maa Durga. Hence she is also referred to as Maha Chausaati Koti Yogini Gana Sevitha. A sacrificial pumpkin is lowered into 64 items as a representative of each of the 64 yogini captain and Puja is finished with Mangala Theertam.
  • Maha Poornahuti is performed by providing sacred offerings and the Yagna is finished with Maha Naivedya offered to Goddesses.
  • Kanya Puja is also performed in the end with little girls, considering them to be avataar of Maa Shakti. Puja is performed by washing their feet, applying kumkum to their forehead and feeding them the Bhog Prasad.

Shubh Muhurat for a Navchandi Yagna Puja:

  • Navchandi Yagna Puja is perfomed on date and time as prescribed by a Pandit or astrologer.
  • The most important thing for Navchandi Yagna is the time for offering Sacrificial Homam which is also performed as per prescribed muhurat

Mantras to Chant for Navchandi Yagna Puja

Navchandi Yagna involves chanting of Saptashati Mantras. Some of the mantras that can give specific benefits are:

Durga Dhyaan Mantra

Durge Smruta Harasi Bhiteemsheshjanto|

Swastayeh Smrutaa Matimateev Shubhaam Dadaasi||

Daaridrya Dukha Bhay Harani Ka Tva Danyaa|

Sarvopkaar Karnaay Sadaa Drachitta||

Navaaran Mantra

Om Aing Hreeng Kleeng Chamundaaye Vichche|

To gain prosperity and success

Sarv Mangal Mangaliye Shive Sarvarth Saadhike|

Sharanye Trayambake Gauri Narayani Namostute||

To detroy obstacles and for better well-being

Karotu Saa Naah Shubh Hetushwaari Shubaani Bhadraanyabhihintu Chaapdah||

For better health and prosperity

Dehi Saubhagyam Aarogyam dehi Me Param Sukham|

Rupam Dehi, Jayam Dehi, Yasho Dehi Dwavisho Jahi||

Client's Speak


Spreading Hinduism Across India:

Agra | Ahemdabad | Bangalore | Bhopal | Chandigarh | Chennai | Coimbatore | Delhi/NCR | Gaya | Goa | Gurgaon | Hyderabad | Indore | Jaipur | Kolkata | Lucknow | Mumbai | Mysore | Nagpur | Patna | Pune | Surat | Ujjain | Varanasi | Vishakhapatnam